Language Arts


The Language Arts Department at Southern Union State Community College prepares students to succeed and build core competencies in critical thinking, oral communication, written communication, foreign language experience, and knowledge of self and society.  

The courses offered by the department range from transitional classes in English and reading to the traditional freshman English composition and sophomore literature courses, as well as courses in speech and Spanish. The academic courses of ENG 101, 102, 251, 252, 271, 272; SPA 101, 102; GRN 101, 102; and SPH 106 and 107 satisfy Southern Union’s graduation requirements, and they transfer to four-year colleges and universities.  The Language Arts Department offers a transitional course in reading and writing, ENR 098, for students who need additional instruction before making the transition into college-level courses.

The Language Arts faculty are committed to helping students succeed! Both full time and adjunct faculty are highly qualified professionals who are dedicated to student success.  Faculty are available and accessible to students for further instruction, advising, and promotion of student learning outcomes.

The Fine Arts and Language Arts Departments sponsor a tournament each year which provides opportunities for juniors and seniors in area high schools to perform and compete in nine areas of competition: composition, cultural literacy, literature, extemporaneous speaking, poetry, art, theater, music, and dance.

If you have any questions or would like more information about the Language Arts Department, please contact the Department Chair.

Language Arts Tournament 


Faculty

Emily Laseter Department Chair, English elaseter@suscc.edu

Todd Aldridge English taldridge@suscc.edu
Jeremy Bearden English jbearden@suscc.edu
Kristi Hickman English khickman@suscc.edu
Sam Hickman Speech shickman@suscc.edu
Pam Horn English phorn@suscc.edu
Jeffrey Jackson English jjackson@suscc.edu
Heather Johnson English hjohnson@suscc.edu
Kim Jones English kjones@suscc.edu
Elizabeth McClendon English bmcclendon@suscc.edu
Mary Jessica Perry Speech mperry@suscc.edu
Amanda Powell English apowell@suscc.edu
Anna Reed English/Speech areed@suscc.edu
Cayce Van Horn English cvanhorn@suscc.edu