Academic Advising


 

Academic Advising Appointments

Academic Advising is by appointment only, and appointments will be offered virtually and in-person for the summer semester. For quick questions, you can email or call an advisor directly at the contact information on this webpage! For longer conversations, you can schedule a 30-minute meeting with an advisor.

Virtual Meetings:  All virtual meetings will be conducted on Google Meet, and access to a webcam and microphone is helpful to utilize this service. To comply with FERPA, students will be asked to show a valid photo ID before each appointment. 

In-Person Meetings: If you schedule an in-person meeting, the meeting location will be provided in your confirmation email. Masks are required for meetings, and you will be required to complete a health survey upon entering Southern Union's campus. 

Schedule an Appointment: Click on "Schedule an Appointment" below. A confirmation email will be sent to the email address that you provide on the registration form. For virtual meetings, the confirmation email will provide a link to the Google Meet. If the advisor you would like to meet with is unavailable, you can reach out to them by email or phone at the contact information below.

Technical Division: Students in the Technical Division can reach out to Amanda Harkins (aharkins@suscc.edu) or Eric Sewell (esewell@suscc.edu) for assistance with advising. 


Spring 2022 Registration Guide


How to Register Video

 

Degree Works Video

 


Requesting Transcripts from Southern Union State Community College

For information on how to request your educational records or transcripts from Southern Union, please refer to the following website: Transcript Requests

 

Advising Staff

General Questions

Southern Union Advising Office
suadvising@suscc.edu

Opelika Campus

Jeremy Taunton - Coordinator of Advising/Recruiter
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5305)
jtaunton@suscc.edu

Madisen Cope - Advisor/Recruiter
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5494)
mcope@suscc.edu

Kenny Gray - Advisor/Recruiter
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5306)
kegray@suscc.edu

Dr. Patsy Parker - Advisor 
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5317)
pparker@suscc.edu

Alyson Skinner - Advisor/Recruiter
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5307)
askinner@suscc.edu

Health Sciences Division

Chiquita Brooks - Advisor/Recruiter
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5519)
cbrooks@suscc.edu

Valley Campus

Robin Brown - Associate Dean of Institutional Effectiveness
334-756-4151 (Extension - 5204)
rbrown@suscc.edu

Wadley Campus

Carol Howell - Advisor/Recruiter
256-395-2211 (Extension - 5403)
chowell@suscc.edu

Ally Silva - Athletic Advisor/Recruiter
256-395-2211 (Extension - 5813)
asilva@suscc.edu

Technical Division

Amanda Harkins - Advisor
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5411)
aharkins@suscc.edu

 


Advising Hours

Summer Term

Monday-Thursday 7:00 a.m.  - 5:30 p.m.

Closed on Friday.

Fall Term

Monday-Thursday 7:15 a.m.  - 4:30 p.m.

Friday 7:15 a.m.  - 12:15 p.m.

Spring Term

Monday-Thursday 7:15 a.m.  - 4:30 p.m.

Friday 7:15 a.m.  - 12:15 p.m.