Southern Union State Community College

Academic Advising

Student Development at Southern Union State Community College
Student Development Division

At Southern Union, academic advising is an extension of the educational process with its primary purpose to assist students in selecting appropriate coursework for desired programs of study. Professional academic advisors and specified faculty are available on all campuses to assist students in planning developmental, technical, health related, and/or transfer programs.

Advisors can meet with you on a variety of topics: degree planning, transfer, careers and majors, etc. Making an appointment ensures that we are able to address all your questions completely and thoroughly.  Walk-ins are welcome during non-registration periods.

New Student Advising for Registration

Students enrolling at Southern Union as transfer or new college students must meet with an academic advisor on a published registration day to schedule classes for the first time.  All Registration Steps must be completed before scheduling your advising appointment.

Additional information about registration may be found here.

What to bring to your first session:

  1. ACT/SAT scores you may have from the past three years
  2. COMPASS scores you may have received within the past three years from another institution
  3. Unofficial college transcripts from institutions you have attended (Transfer students and dual/accelerated high school only)
  4. Identification (with picture)
  5. Any questions you may have about the college process
  6. Opelika students are required to bring a Clearance to Register form that can be obtained from the Admissions Office.

Contact any of our advisors with questions:

Dr. Fred Williams - Academic Advising Wadley Campus
256-395-2211  (Extension - 5151)
fwillams@suscc.edu

Ms. Ally Silva - Athletic Advising Wadley Campus
256-395-2211 (Extension - 5104)
asilva@suscc.edu

Mrs. Carol Howell - Academic Advising Opelika Campus
334-745-6437  (Extension - 5403)
chowell@suscc.edu

Mr. Brandon Morgan - Academic Advising Opelika Campus
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5494)
bmorgan@suscc.edu

Dr. Patsy Parker - Academic Advising Opelika Campus
334-745-6437 (ext - 5317)
pparker@suscc.edu

Mr. Jeremy Taunton - Technical Advising
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5305)
jtaunton@suscc.edu

Mrs. Kayla Whaley - Health Sciences Advising
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5519)
kwhaley@suscc.edu

Ms. Robin Brown - Advising Valley Campus
334-756-4151 (Extension - 5204)
rbrown@suscc.edu

Mrs. Lisa Bufford- Evening Advising Opelika
334-745-6437 (Extension - 5421)
lbufford@suscc.edu

Mr.. Richard Halsey-  Evening Advising Valley Campus
334-756-4151 (Extension - 5200)
rhalsey@suscc.edu

Office Hours are:
Monday-Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Southern Union in closed on Fridays until August 8, 2016

Evening Advising Hours:
Monday-Thursday  4:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.